Non Nationals of Trinidad and Tobago who are described in Section 6(1) of the Immigration Act may apply to the Minister of National Security for the grant of Resident Status.
  Application For Citizenship in Trinidad and Tobago.   Persons who are residents of Trinidad and Tobago shall have endorsed in their passports an Immigration Stamp certifying their resident status.

The CARICOM Single Market (CSME) came into being in 2006.  Twelve member states of CARICOM committed to the Free Movement of People.  The right to Free Movement means that a qualified CARICOM national can live and work in any CARICOM state that participates in the Free Movement regime without the need for a work permit.
Which CARICOM states allow Free Movement of People?

The CARICOM states that participate in the regime for the Free Movement of People are:
Antigua and Barbuda
St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Lucia
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Trinidad and Tobago 
Who has the right to Free Movement?

The first requirement is that you must be a CARICOM national; that is you must be a citizen, native or resident of a CARICOM state or a company formed under the laws of Member States as a “CARICOM Company”.  You can qualify for the Right to Free Movement under three broad categories:
Wage-earners – Persons who wish to work for a company or organization in another member state.
Self EmployedNon wage-earners seeking to provide services on a temporary basis.
Self Employed Non wages-earners seeking to exercise the Right of Establishment
I wish to seek a job in another CSME state; do I qualify for free Movement?
In order to qualify for the Right to Free Movement as a wage-earner you must fall within the categories of workers that have been approved for free movement.  CARICOM Heads of Government have agreed to ten (10) categories or workers that qualify for free movement.  These include:
University Graduates
Media Workers
Professional  Nurses
Qualified Teachers
Artisans with a Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ)
Holders of Associate Degrees or equivalent qualifications such as: 2 CAPE/”A”  Levels and National Technician Certificates
Household Domestics with a Caribbean Vocational Qualifications (CVQ)  or equivalent qualification
Please note that CARICOM Heads of Government have agreed that Antigua and Barbuda (for the time being) will not permit Free Movement of Persons in categories six (6) to ten (10).  The Heads also agreed that Belize will not permit Free Movement of Persons in category ten (10).